

Local Option Transient Rental Tax Rates (Tourist Development Tax Rates)

Individual Florida counties and certain cities may impose a local option tax on the rental or lease of living, sleeping, or housekeeping accommodations for a term of six months or less. These taxes, often called **local option transient rental taxes**, include the tourist development tax, convention development tax, tourist impact tax, and municipal resort tax. The local tax imposed is in addition to the 6% state sales tax and any applicable discretionary sales surtax.

For the counties shaded in gray in the chart below, the local option transient rental taxes are reported and remitted to the Florida Department of Revenue (DOR). For all other counties, the local option transient rental taxes are reported and remitted directly to the county; however, sales tax and discretionary sales surtax on transient rentals are always reported and remitted to the Department.

If the local option transient rental tax is collected by the county, contact that county to verify the tax rate. Not all counties notify the Department of changes in their local option transient rental tax rate.

County Name	Local Option Transient Rental Tax Rate	Collected By	County Name	Local Option Transient Rental Tax Rate	Collected By
Alachua	5.0%	County	Lee	5.0%	County
Baker	3.0%	County	Leon	5.0%	County
Bay (1)	5.0%	County	Levy	4.0%	DOR
Bradford	4.0%	DOR	Liberty	0.0%	N/A
Brevard	5.0%	County	Madison	5.0%	DOR
Broward	6.0%	County	Manatee	5.0%	County
Calhoun	0.0%	N/A	Marion	4.0%	County
Charlotte	5.0%	County	Martin	5.0%	County
Citrus	5.0%	DOR	Miami-Dade (2)	6.0%	County
Clay	5.0%	County	Monroe	5.0%	County
Collier	5.0%	County	Nassau (3)	5.0%	County
Columbia	5.0%	DOR	Okaloosa (4)	*6.0%	County
Desoto	3.0%	DOR	Okeechobee	3.0%	DOR
Dixie	3.0%	DOR	Orange	6.0%	County
Duval	6.0%	County	Osceola	6.0%	County
Escambia	5.0%	County	Palm Beach	6.0%	County
Flagler	5.0%	County	Pasco	5.0%	County
Franklin	3.0%	DOR	Pinellas	6.0%	County
Gadsden	2.0%	DOR	Polk	5.0%	County
Gilchrist	3.0%	DOR	Putnam	4.0%	County
Glades	2.0%	DOR	St. Johns	5.0%	County
Gulf	5.0%	County	St. Lucie	5.0%	County
Hamilton	3.0%	DOR	Santa Rosa	5.0%	County
Hardee	2.0%	DOR	Sarasota	6.0%	County
Hendry	3.0%	DOR	Seminole	5.0%	County
Hernando	5.0%	County	Sumter	0.0%	N/A
Highlands	5.0%	DOR	Suwannee	3.0%	County
Hillsborough	6.0%	County	Taylor	5.0%	County
Holmes	3.0%	DOR	Union	0.0%	N/A
Indian River	4.0%	County	Volusia	6.0%	County
Jackson	5.0%	DOR	Wakulla	4.0%	DOR
Jefferson	3.0%	DOR	Walton (5)	5.0%	County
Lafayette	0.0%	N/A	Washington	3.0%	DOR
Lake	4.0%	County			

(1) Bay: Applies only to ZIP codes 32401, 32404, 32405, 32407, 32408, 32410, and Bay County portion of 32413.

(2) Miami-Dade: 4% for Surfside and Bal Harbour, 7% for Miami Beach, and 6% for the rest of the county.

(3) Nassau: Applies only to Amelia Island (ZIP code 32034).

(4) Okaloosa: *6% for the Okaloosa County Tourist Development Tax District and 5% for the Expansion District.

(5) Walton: 5% for ZIP codes 32459, 32550, 32454, 32461, and Walton County portion of 32413; and 2% for the rest of the county.

For local option transient rental tax collected by the **Florida Department of Revenue**:

- The transient rental tax is filed and paid along with the 6% state sales tax and any discretionary sales surtax, using the *Sales and Use Tax Return* (Form DR-15).
- For questions, call Taxpayer Services at 850-488-6800, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.

For local option transient rental taxes collected by the **county**:

- The transient rental tax is reported and paid directly to the county; however, the 6% state sales tax and any discretionary sales surtax is reported and paid to the Florida Department of Revenue using Line D. (Transient Rentals) on the *Sales and Use Tax Return* (Form DR-15).
- · For questions, contact the county imposing the local option tax.

For more information regarding the taxability of transient rentals, review Rule 12A-1.061, Florida Administrative Code, available online at **flrules.org**.