A bond that equals three times the estimated average monthly gallons purchased times the total tax levied, not to exceed $100,000, is required. If the average
monthly gallons purchased is less than $50, a bond is not required.
Terminal suppliers must pay tax and file the Terminal Supplier Fuel Tax Return (DR-309631) electronically. Instructions
) are available. You can file and pay fuel tax electronically using the Department's free and
secure File and Pay web page.
Once enrolled for e-Services, a terminal supplier must create a secure file transfer account with SecureNet to file electronically. It is recommended that you use
the same user ID and password provided during e-services enrollment. For instructions, review the BSWA Instruction Sheet ,
or visit the SecureNet website.
Licensed terminal suppliers must file their return using Electronic Data Interchange (EDI). An EDI file can be created using off-the-shelf software, or by
producing your own output. You must submit test files and receive approval from the Department prior to filing your return electronically. During the test period, you
will be required to file two test files that include all receipt and disbursement data. If you do not have receipt or disbursement data and file zero returns, build
your test file using the Terminal Supplier Test Script . See the
Motor and Other Fuel Taxes EDI Technical Implementation Guide
(Form DR-309650 ) for instructions on testing and filing your terminal supplier
return electronically. If you have questions about EDI, testing procedures, or filing errors, contact e-Services@floridarevenue.com and include "Terminal Supplier" in the subject line.
Returns and payments are due on the 1st and late after the 20th day of the month following the collection period. If the 20th is a Saturday, Sunday, state holiday,
or federal holiday, returns are timely if filed electronically, postmarked or hand-delivered on the first business day following the 20th. A return must be
filed for each collection period.
When you electronically pay only or you electronically file and pay at the same time, you must initiate your electronic payment and receive a confirmation number
no later than 5:00 p.m., ET, on the business day prior to the 20th to avoid penalty and interest. For a list of payment due dates, visit the Department's Forms and
Publications web page and select the current year Florida e-Services Calendar of Due Dates (Form DR-659) under the
Terminal suppliers are required to file and pay electronically. Florida law imposes a monthly penalty of $5,000 for failing to file and pay electronically.
If you do not file a complete return, including all schedules, a $200 penalty will be assessed.
If you file your return or pay tax late, a collection allowance is not authorized. In addition to all other penalties, a late penalty of 10% of any tax due will be
added for each month, or portion of a month, the return is late. The maximum penalty is 50% and the minimum is $10 even if no tax is due. A floating rate of interest
applies to underpayments and late payments of tax. Interest rates can be found on the Department's
Tax and Interest
Rates web page.
Confirmation - Once you have successfully submitted the return and payment, a confirmation number and a list of filing errors (if any) will be issued.
Manifest – Returns filed electronically will be reviewed for filing errors, identifying critical errors and compliance notices. Critical errors must be
corrected before you can file your return. Compliance notices will not prevent the Department from processing your return. However, compliance notices should be
reviewed to determine if a mistake was made on your return. Correct mistakes by filing a supplemental return prior to the due date of the return. View the
Terminal Supplier Information Return - Exceptions Code List