Skip menu navigation
Home » Taxes » Tax Information Publications

TIP #10A19-07
DATE ISSUED: November 22, 2010


Effective January 1, 2011, some local communications services tax (CST) rates will change. These local tax rate changes are pursuant to an ordinance adopted by the governing authority of the county or municipality. The local tax rate for CST includes both the local rate imposed under the CST statute [Section 202.19, Florida Statutes (F.S.)] and the discretionary sales surtax imposed under the sales and use tax statute (Section 212.055, F.S.). The new rates are effective for all bills issued on or after January 1, 2011, regardless of the date that the service is rendered or transacted. These rates will stay in effect until further notice by the Department. This Tax Information Publication (TIP) includes rate changes due to changes in the county discretionary sales surtax.

The following jurisdictions will have a rate change due to a local ordinance:

January 2011 - CST Rate Changes
Due to Local Ordinance
Total Local Rate
Keystone Heights - Clay County 5.82%
Indian River Shores - Indian River County 5.82%
Jacob City - Jackson County 5.92%
Lake Alfred - Polk County 5.82%

The following counties have a change in their county discretionary sales surtax. This means that the local CST rate for the county and each jurisdiction within the county will change.

January 2011 - CST Rate Changes
Due to Change in Discretionary Sales Surtax Rate
Total Local Rate
Alachua Unincorporated Area 7.10%
Alachua 5.42%
Archer 5.42%
Gainesville 5.77%
Hawthorne 5.42%
High Springs 5.42%
La Crosse 3.62%
Micanopy 5.30%
Newberry 5.42%
Waldo 5.42%
Bay Unincorporated Area 2.14%
Callaway 5.52%
Lynn Haven 5.52%
Mexico Beach 3.18%
Panama City 5.52%
Panama City Beach 5.52%
Parker 5.52%
Springfield 5.52%
Palm Beach Unincorporated Area 5.72%
Atlantis 5.10%
Belle Glade 5.12%
Boca Raton 5.42%
Boynton Beach 5.22%
Briny Breezes 5.22%
Cloud Lake 2.32%
Delray Beach 5.22%
Glen Ridge 5.22%
Golf 5.22%
Greenacres 6.44%
Gulf Stream 5.22%
Haverhill 2.60%
Highland Beach 5.22%
Hypoluxo 5.92%
Juno Beach 5.22%
Jupiter 5.22%
Jupiter Inlet Colony 0.00%
Lake Clarke Shores 5.22%
Lake Park 5.32%
Lake Worth 5.22%
Lantana 5.42%
Loxahatchee Groves 5.22%
Manalapan 1.60%
Mangonia Park 5.62%
North Palm Beach 5.22%
Ocean Ridge 2.00%
Pahokee 5.22%
Palm Beach 5.22%
Palm Beach Gardens 1.50%
Palm Beach Shores 5.52%
Palm Springs 5.32%
Riviera Beach 5.22%
Royal Palm Beach 5.22%
South Bay 5.10%
South Palm Beach 5.60%
Tequesta 5.22%
Wellington 5.22%
West Palm Beach 5.42%

The enclosed rate schedule contains all the local rates, including new rates, effective January 1, 2011. A list of all local tax rates may be downloaded from the Department's website at

Reference:  Sections 202.19, 202.21 and 212.055, Florida Statutes

For More Information

This document is intended to alert you to the requirements contained in Florida laws and administrative rules. It does not by its own effect create rights or require compliance.

For forms and other information, visit our website at or call Taxpayer Services at 800-352-3671, Monday through Friday (excluding holidays).

For a detailed written response to your questions, write the Florida Department of Revenue, Taxpayer Services, MS 3-2000, 5050 West Tennessee Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0112.

Want the latest tax information?
Go to and click on:
"Subscribe to Our Publications."
It's fast, easy, and free.