Skip menu navigation
Home » Taxes » Tax Information Publications

TIP # 00A01-38
DATE ISSUED: 11/14/00

Union County 7 Percent Sales Tax Rate Remains in Effect

Union County Ordinance Number 2000-04 extends the county's 1 percent discretionary sales surtax beyond its original January 31, 2001 termination. This ordinance provides that the surtax will now expire on December 31, 2005.

Dealers must continue collecting the Union County 1 percent discretionary sales surtax. This 1 percent surtax is added to the state’s 6 percent sales and use tax for a total of 7 percent on most taxable transactions occurring in Union County.



This document is intended to alert you to the requirements contained in Florida laws and administrative rules. It does not by its own effect create rights or require compliance.

For forms and other information, visit our site at Or call Tax Information Services, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m., to 7:00 p.m., ET, at 800-352-3671 (for Florida residents only), or 850-488-6800

Hearing- or speech- impaired persons should call our TDD at 1-800-367-8331 or 850-922-1115.

For a detailed written response to your questions, write the Florida Department of Revenue, Tax Information Services, 1379 Blountstown Highway, Tallahassee, FL 32304-2716.

To receive a fax copy of a form, call 850-922-3676 from your fax machine telephone.


Ordinance No. 2000-04

Section 212.055, F.S.